daily four

yesterday the hiss and crunch of bike tires
snaking through my errands, the nutritional
chatter of women, the whump and long exhale
of forced air heating: all of this came to me.
today, so far, the submarine pings of dishes
submerged in tepid, frothy water growing beige,
and a coughing crank, re-crank, re-crank
from the old volkswagen — these sounds sink
down into my gut like food, good news from
an unexpected quarter, a limited facticity
of facts that structure and also comfort,
with both its soft hands on my ears, breath
on my neck, circumstances wrapped like
a fresh, stiff wind around my two, strong legs.

4 thoughts on “daily four

  1. The description of sounds and the images they evoke in the first half of the poem are truly amazing. “Nutritional chatter” – nice. “the submarine pings of dishes / submerged in tepid, frothy water growing beige” – is my favorite.

    I must say, though, I think the poem loses a little steam in the second half with more obscure metaphors, but perhaps I need to read it more carefully.

  2. haha, thanks neil. this DOES seem like a mash-up to me, now. i wonder whether i will come back to it and make two poems out of this one.

Leave a Reply

