frost

the dark came soon tonight, while i was still indoors,
and now the water is turning over and over
in its hole, growing dim-witted at last and still.
above, the chilling death chants have begun,
in which the stars mourn with their alien psalmody
i can only just make out but never comprehend.
i find a certain affection for the heat of my body.
with my hands i touch the hot blood that rushes
in and out of my ears. i know the secret places
of myself that are always warm. i fly down footpaths
on my bicycle until the teeth in my mouth hang
like dripping ice from the gutter’s edge, brittle and
beautiful. and my eyes weep from the snapping cold.
my throbbing lips repeat that old mammalian rhyme,
i am alive. i am alive. dear god, i am alive.

3 thoughts on “frost

Leave a Reply

