off my chest

i would like to confess a few things
my secret affection for tabloids
and for music with no words

the inside of my mouth often
tastes like the flavor of sad
salty but crunchless like boiled peanuts

sometimes i avoid hugging anyone
because of sudden fear
that my elbows will no longer bend

before we get down to brass tacks
i want to tell you that it gets better
but with me sometimes it gets worse too

i sometimes imagine on either side of me
two great owls who know the future
but will not speak; this too should be known.

One thought on “off my chest

  1. i really enjoyed it.
    it’s good to take it off, i mean, Fuck! it is wonderful to share.

    you have some real magic moments there.

    “boiled peanuts” yak!

    “because of sudden fear
    that my elbows will no longer bend”

    “this too should be known” – really like the owls and the closing line.

Leave a Reply

