around the corner

when? how soon? and how much longer until?

I wait for something I cannot name,

a great antecedent unknown to me.

my eyes are red with watching.

the familiar objects of my life

seem suddenly to be hiding something:

cushions, cars, the mailbox.

I would move the clouds and rearrange the trees

if I could, just to see.

from what direction will it come?

I look everywhere.

sometimes I am almost certain it has arrived:

a shortness of breath, a quickening sense,

then nothing, waiting still.

Leave a Reply

